CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Helen Benedict, Prof. of Journalism at Columbia University

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 17, 2008.

In this episode, Sheryl tackles an issue of sobering import, our female warrior. They are the women who have volunteered to serve in the military. Journalism Professor Helen Benedict of Columbia University has met and interviewed many of them for her forthcoming book, "The Lonely Soldier: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq." They are in many cases fighting two wars at once - within their units and those they were asked to fight against.

Guest List

Helen Benedict Professor of Journalism, Columbia University

Sheryl McCarthy Newsday

  • Rachel Swaby
  • Monday, July 9 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 11 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 15 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 8:00pm
  • Giselle Routhier
  • Monday, June 25 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 27 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 1 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, July 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Liz Evans
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 25 - 8:00am, 2:00pm