CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Helen Benedict, Prof. of Journalism at Columbia University

Episode Details

Original tape date: June 17, 2008.

In this episode, Sheryl tackles an issue of sobering import, our female warrior. They are the women who have volunteered to serve in the military. Journalism Professor Helen Benedict of Columbia University has met and interviewed many of them for her forthcoming book, "The Lonely Soldier: The Private War of Women Serving in Iraq." They are in many cases fighting two wars at once - within their units and those they were asked to fight against.

Guest List

Helen Benedict Professor of Journalism, Columbia University

Sheryl McCarthy Newsday

  • Ron Howell
  • Saturday, October 20 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 29 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, October 29 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, November 12 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, November 12 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 11:30pm
  • Ron Howell
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 11:30pm
  • Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 7 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jane Isay
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, September 23 - 9:30am
  • Monday, September 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm