CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Sujatha Gidla

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 11, 2017.

First aired: October 2, 2017.

In the new memoir “Ants Among Elephants: An Untouchable Family and the Making of Modern India” author Sujatha Gidla takes us through four generations of her family---touching on topics such as politics, poverty and gender inequality in Indian society. When she was growing up, untouchables were the lowest of the low in a class system that was as complex as it was oppressive. So what did it mean to be an untouchable, and what does it mean now—nearly 70 years after the classification was legally abolished? The book has just been published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Guest List

Sujatha Gidla Author, “Ants Amoung the Elephants”

  • Liz Evans
  • Monday, June 18 - 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 25 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Giselle Routhier, Policy Director, The Coalition for the Homeless
  • Monday, June 25 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 27 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 1 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, July 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, July 9 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 11 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 15 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Liz Evans
  • Monday, June 11 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 13 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 17 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 18 - 8:00am
  • Miao Wang
  • Monday, May 28 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 30 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 3 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jane Isay
  • Saturday, May 19 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, May 20 - 9:30am
  • Monday, May 21 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, May 28 - 8:00am, 2:00pm