CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Sujatha Gidla





Online media for this episode is not currently available on cuny.tv.

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 11, 2017.

First aired: October 2, 2017.

In the new memoir “Ants Among Elephants: An Untouchable Family and the Making of Modern India” author Sujatha Gidla takes us through four generations of her family---touching on topics such as politics, poverty and gender inequality in Indian society. When she was growing up, untouchables were the lowest of the low in a class system that was as complex as it was oppressive. So what did it mean to be an untouchable, and what does it mean now—nearly 70 years after the classification was legally abolished? The book has just been published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux.

Guest List

Sujatha Gidla Author, “Ants Amoung the Elephants”

  • Reniqua Allen, Journalist.
  • Monday, September 25 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 30 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Sujatha Gidla
  • Monday, October 2 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 4 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 7 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 8 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 14 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, October 16 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 18 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 21 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 22 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 23 - 8:00am, 2:00pm