CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Miao Wang

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 10, 2018.

First aired: April 30, 2018.

For international students, the idea of attending boarding school in another country can seem like an exciting adventure – the opportunity to master a different language, make new friends and become a more well-rounded individual that a prestigious college or university would readily accept. The opportunity to attend American high schools, with the hope of increasing one’s chances of getting into an American college or university, is something that’s increasingly being sought by foreign students, especially those from China.

In her new film “Maineland,” filmmaker Miao Wang shows us what this experience is like through the eyes of two Chinese students who came from big cities and wealthy families in China to a boarding school in a small town in Maine. What are the advantages of getting an American education for these foreign students—and what do the schools gain by having them?

Guest List

Miao Wang Filmmaker, “Maineland”

  • Liz Evans
  • Saturday, June 23 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 25 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Giselle Routhier, Policy Director, The Coalition for the Homeless
  • Monday, June 25 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 27 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 1 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, July 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, July 9 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 11 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 15 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Liz Evans
  • Monday, June 11 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 13 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 17 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 18 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Miao Wang
  • Monday, May 28 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 30 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 3 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Jane Isay
  • Saturday, May 26 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, May 28 - 8:00am, 2:00pm