CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Miao Wang

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 10, 2018.

First aired: April 30, 2018.

For international students, the idea of attending boarding school in another country can seem like an exciting adventure – the opportunity to master a different language, make new friends and become a more well-rounded individual that a prestigious college or university would readily accept. The opportunity to attend American high schools, with the hope of increasing one’s chances of getting into an American college or university, is something that’s increasingly being sought by foreign students, especially those from China.

In her new film “Maineland,” filmmaker Miao Wang shows us what this experience is like through the eyes of two Chinese students who came from big cities and wealthy families in China to a boarding school in a small town in Maine. What are the advantages of getting an American education for these foreign students—and what do the schools gain by having them?

Guest List

Miao Wang Filmmaker, “Maineland”

  • Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin
  • Monday, October 15 - 2:00pm
  • Ron Howell
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 20 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 21 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 29 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, October 29 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, November 12 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, November 12 - 8:30pm
  • Jeannie Park and Margaret Chin
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 7 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 15 - 8:00am
  • Jane Isay
  • Monday, September 17 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, September 19 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, September 23 - 9:30am
  • Monday, September 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Miri Song
  • Saturday, September 15 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, September 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm