CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Safer Streets

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 15, 2018.

First aired: November 26, 2018.

In 2013, after numerous complaints that the New York City Police Department was not taking city traffic accidents seriously, then Police Commissioner Ray Kelly pledged to overhaul the Accident Investigation Squad. He promised to increase the number of officers in the unit and expand the types of crashes they investigated. He even changed the name to Collision Investigation Squad.

But according to a recent New York Times article, little has changed in five years. The squad has fewer investigators and investigates fewer crashes than it did in 2013. All while Mayor DeBlasio insists he is very much committed to his Vision Zero Action Plan, which is intended to decrease traffic deaths and injuries on NYC streets.

Our guests today are Marco Conner, legislative and legal director at Transportation Alternatives, a non profit that strives to change the city’s transportation priorities, and Karen Manrique, a member of Families for Safe Streets, who lost her nine year-old year old son to a reckless driver in April.

Guest List

Marco Conner Legislative & Legal Director, Transportation Alternatives

Karen Manrique Member, Families for Safe Streets

  • Stephanie Luce
  • Sunday, June 16 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 22 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • TBA
  • Monday, June 24 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 26 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 29 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 30 - 9:30am
  • Monday, July 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, July 6 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, July 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • TBA
  • Monday, July 8 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 10 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, July 13 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, July 14 - 9:30am
  • Stephanie Luce
  • Monday, June 10 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 8:00pm
  • Nancy Miller, Author; "My Brilliant Friends"
  • Monday, May 27 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, June 1 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, June 2 - 9:30am
  • Monday, June 3 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, June 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Barbara Mensch
  • Saturday, May 18 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, May 19 - 9:30am
  • Monday, May 20 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, May 25 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, May 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm