CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Hon. Liz Krueger

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 22, 2018.

First aired: October 29, 2018.

In New York City 17,500 people are arrested each year for marijuana possession, according to The New York Times. And the Bronx has the fourth highest per-capita arrest rate for marijuana possession of any county-level jurisdiction in the country.

African-American and Latino and communities are the hardest hit by this kind of law enforcement. Government health surveys have found that young whites use marijuana at higher rates than young blacks and Latinos, but the NYPD has arrested blacks for marijuana possession at seven times the rate of whites, and Latinos at nearly four times the rate of whites.

State Senator Liz Krueger has emerged as a hero of New York State’s movement to legalize marijuana. She has introduced the Marijuana Regulation and Taxation Act, a bill that calls for marijuana to be sold and regulated like alcohol. It’s a new approach after years of racially discriminatory outcomes. But what are its chances?

Guest List

Hon. Liz Krueger State Senator (District 36, Bronx), New York State Senate

  • Nicholas Dagen Bloom
  • Saturday, November 24 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, November 26 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Safer Streets
  • Monday, November 26 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, December 2 - 9:30am
  • Monday, December 3 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, December 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, December 10 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 9:30am
  • Monday, December 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Nicholas Dagen Bloom
  • Monday, November 12 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, November 18 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 19 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Hon. Liz Krueger
  • Monday, October 29 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, November 4 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, November 12 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  •  Ron Howell, Author, Boss of Black Brooklyn
  • Sunday, October 21 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 29 - 8:00am, 2:00pm