CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: David Udell on Legal Representation in Civil Court

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 15, 2016.

First aired: March 28, 2016.

There is a crisis in our country when it comes to the legal representation of individuals and families in civil cases. These cases are often crucially important. They can involve home foreclosures and evictions, the breakup of families, domestic violence, and many other equally serious matters.

It is estimated that three out of every five people in civil cases go to court without a lawyer. For poor people, not surprisingly, the problems are even worse. Eighty percent of the legal needs of the poor in civil cases go unmet.

David Udell, the executive director of the National Center for Access to Justice joins Bob Herbert to discuss these widespread challenges and some possible solutions. Mr. Udell is also a visiting professor at the Cardozo School of Law in New York.

Guest List

David Udell Executive Director, National Center for Access to Justice

  • Traditional Retail vs. E-commerce with Mark A. Cohen
  • Monday, May 1 - 9:30am, 3:30pm, 9:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 3 - 2:30am
  • Saturday, May 6 - 9:30am
  • Chris Whipple
  • Monday, May 8 - 9:30am, 3:30pm, 9:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 10 - 2:30am
  • Saturday, May 13 - 9:30am
  • tba
  • Monday, May 15 - 9:30am, 3:30pm, 9:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 17 - 2:30am
  • Saturday, May 20 - 9:30am
  • tba
  • Monday, May 22 - 9:30am, 3:30pm, 9:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 2:30am
  • Saturday, May 27 - 9:30am
  • tba
  • Monday, May 29 - 9:30am, 3:30pm, 9:30pm