CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Tamara Draut on America's New Working Class

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 12, 2016.

First aired: April 18, 2016.

Once comprised of mostly white, male, blue-collar employees, America's working class jobs have shifted greatly from the production industry to the service industry over the past few decades. Now with a major increase in African Americans, Latinos, and women now working in this sector, it seems the working class is far less often a talking point in the political conversation than it once was.

Tamara Draut, Vice President of Policy & Research at Demos, joins Bob Herbert to discuss this evolution, which she delves into in her latest book "Sleeping Giant: How the New Working Class Will Transform America.”

Guest List

Tamara Draut Author, “Sleeping Giant: How the New Working Class Will Transform America”

  • 2018 Midterm Election Wrap-up with Christine Quinn
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, November 25 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 26 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, December 3 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • David Margolick, Author, "The Promise and the Dream"
  • Monday, December 3 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, December 9 - 9:30am
  • Monday, December 10 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, December 17 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, December 17 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 11:30pm