CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Kim Phillips-Fein on How New York Had Been Fear City

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 23, 2017.

First aired: June 5, 2017.

It’s been more than 40 years since that famous Daily News headline – FORD TO CITY: Drop Dead – hammered home the severity of the New York fiscal crisis. The city in those days would be virtually unrecognizable to current residents who never experienced that troubled time. A new book, “FEAR CITY: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics,” revisits that era, analyzes it and shows how profoundly it shaped today’s New York. Bob is joined by the author, Kim Phillips-Fein, a teacher of history at NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study.

Guest List

Kim Phillips-Fein Author, “Fear City”

  • Deborah Bial on Student Assessment and College Access
  • Saturday, January 26 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, January 28 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Sam Schwartz
  • Monday, January 28 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, January 30 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, February 2 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, February 3 - 9:30am
  • Monday, February 4 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, February 9 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, February 11 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Maxine Gordon
  • Monday, February 11 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, February 13 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, February 16 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, February 17 - 9:30am
  • Monday, February 18 - 9:30am, 3:30pm