CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Kim Phillips-Fein on How New York Had Been Fear City

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 23, 2017.

First aired: June 5, 2017.

It’s been more than 40 years since that famous Daily News headline – FORD TO CITY: Drop Dead – hammered home the severity of the New York fiscal crisis. The city in those days would be virtually unrecognizable to current residents who never experienced that troubled time. A new book, “FEAR CITY: New York’s Fiscal Crisis and the Rise of Austerity Politics,” revisits that era, analyzes it and shows how profoundly it shaped today’s New York. Bob is joined by the author, Kim Phillips-Fein, a teacher of history at NYU’s Gallatin School of Individualized Study.

Guest List

Kim Phillips-Fein Author, “Fear City”

  • Why Do So Many African Students Call CUNY's Bronx Community College Home?
  • Wednesday, April 25 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, April 29 - 9:30am
  • Monday, April 30 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, May 7 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, May 7 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 9 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, May 12 - 3:00pm
  • Sunday, May 13 - 9:30am
  • Monday, May 14 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 19 - 3:00pm
  • Monday, May 21 - 9:30am, 3:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, May 21 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, May 23 - 11:30pm