CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science, Technology and Outer Space

Episode Details

Original tape date: September 27, 2011.

First aired: September 27, 2011.

On this episode of Science & U! we talk about Aphophis, an asteroid the size of the Empire State Building, which may hit Earth in years to come as well as the methods scientists are exploring to prevent it’s impact. We explore the medical revolution surrounding the DaVinci Surgical System, a robot which allows surgeons to make safer and more precise operations. We talk with high school students who are building robots in their classrooms to compete in robotic competitions, how outer space is soon to become the next hottest tourist destination, the creation of a new and improved space suit for astronauts, and finally we sit down with Dr. Andrew Rosenberg to talk about Watson, the IBM artificial intelligence computer that beat two contestants on Jeopardy. It’s all part of this episode of Science & U!

Guest List

Susan Brustein Robotics Coach

Marko Mandil Robotics Surgery Patient

Ana Martinez FIRST NY Regional Director

Gregory Matloff Professor of Physics, New York City College of Technology

Sarah Oberlander Robotics Coach

Greg Olsen Space Tourist

MD Nirau Petal Cardiologist, Lenox Hill Hospital

Dr. Andrew Rosenberg Assistant Professor, Computer Science, Queens College/CUNY

Priyanka Saha Student

Ted Southern Artist, Final Frontier Design

  • Season 6/Episode 5: May 2017
  • Saturday, December 15 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 23 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Men's Health
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 30 - 5:30pm
  • Season 6/Episode 5: May 2017
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Science & U!: The Best of Spring
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 9 - 5:30pm
  • October 2017
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Alternative Healing
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 5:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 5:30pm