CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: The World of Animals

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 14, 2011.

First aired: November 14, 2011.

• Donna Hanover explores how DNA is used to track animals in the wilds of Afghanistan and other places around the globe.

• Marlene Peralta looks at the connection between people and animals and how they help us both mentally and physically.

• Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson traces the human animal bond through history and why we are so attracted to animal companions.

• Mike Gilliam wonders if parrots really think or are them just reciting what they’ve been told?

• Carol Anne Riddell takes a closer look at the science of dog behavior…many people treat them as members of the family but how much do we really understand them?

Saving Animals:
www.wcs.org/

www.bethwaldphotography.com/

Human Animal Bond:
www.humanesocietyny.org/

www.theatricalanimals.com/

Animal Connection:
www.psychologytoday.com/blog/the-animal-connection/201110/looking-love-in-all-the-wrong-places


Dog Behavior:
www.dogspies.com/Dog_Spies/Home.html

www.animalhavenshelter.org/site/PageServer

Guest List

Bill Berloni Animal Consultant and Trainer, Humane Society of NY

Ph.D. Peter Borchelt Animal behaviorist

Vickie Allen Gilliam parrot owner

Julie Hecht Canine Behavioral Researcher

Anne Marie Karish Associate Director, Humane Society of New York

Tiffany Lacey Executive Director, Animal Haven

Dr. Irene Pepperberg Researcher

Ph.D. Pat Shipman Author

Dr. Robin Sturtz Veterinary Technology Program

Peter Zahler Deputy Director for the Asia Program, Wildlife Conservation Society

  • Season 6/Episode 5: May 2017
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 23 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Men's Health
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science & U!: The Best of Spring
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 9 - 5:30pm
  • October 2017
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Alternative Healing
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 5:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm