CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science and Food

Episode Details

Original tape date: July 24, 2012.

First aired: July 24, 2012.

• Grant Greenberg explores molecular gastronomy…cooking with a science twist right in your own kitchen!

• Carol Anne Riddell takes us inside the lab to find out the science behind all those wonderful flavors we love.

• Donna Hanover speaks with the experts…both in and out of the kitchen..to get to the bottom of why we’re addicted to chocolate.

• Barry Mitchell goes on a foraging expedition…in Central Park!

• Tinabeth Pina gets up close and personal with freeze dried food and tells us just how nutritious it is.

• Marlene Peralta goes back to basics for growing food…at an urban farm in the middle of New York.


For More Information:

Flavors
www.iff.com/flavors.aspx

Chocolate
www.drjeffgardere.com
www.mrchocolate.com

Wildman/Foraging
www.wildmanstevebrill.com

Freeze Dried Foods
wisefoodstorage.com
www.mountainhouse.com
www.ems.com
www.barbaramendeznutrition.com

Urban Farming
rooftopgardens.org
queensfarm.org
www.nourishingusa.org

Guest List

Steve "Wildman" Brill Naturalist

Vanessa Cruz

Richard Dandrea Senior Flavorist, International Flavors and Fragrances

Kenny Domnitser Forager

Emily Francois Farmer, Eagle Street Rooftop Farm

Dr. Jeff Gardere Psychologist, Adjunct Clinical Professor, Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine

Aki Kamozawa Co-Author

Gina Keatley Founder, NourishingNYC.org

Wendy Keller Chocolate Lover

Barbara Mendez NUTRITIONIST

Erika Pappa Food Writer

Leah Retherford Farm Manager, Queens County Farm Museum

Donald Schaffner Director for Center for Advanced Food Technology

Alex Talbot Co-Author

Jacques Torres Master Pastry Chef, Chocolatier, Jacques Torres Chocolate

Tusha Yakovleva Farmer, Eagle Street Rooftop Farm

  • Science & U!: The Best of Spring
  • Sunday, December 9 - 5:30pm
  • Season 6/Episode 5: May 2017
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 23 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Men's Health
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science & U!: The Best of Spring
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 11:30am
  • October 2017
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Alternative Healing
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 5:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm