CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science and Food

Episode Details

Original tape date: August 5, 2014.

First aired: August 26, 2014.

• Andrew Falzon hits the kitchen to look at how chemistry might just help with your next meal.

• Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson looks at the connection between smell, taste and our brain.

• Carol Anne Riddell reports on the science behind your cocktail…combining chemistry and presentation…along with taste.

• Lisa Beth Kovetz explores the scientific methods of making beer.

• Donna Hanover speaks with Josie Iselin author of “An Ocean Garden”…who tells us all you wanted to know about the beauty of seaweed in and out of the ocean..and sometimes on the dinner table.


For More Information:
Mixology - anthonycaporale.com
- talesofthecocktail.com/personality/pamela-wiznitzer

Cooking with Chemicals - www.internationalculinarycenter.com

An Ocean Garden/Josie Iselin - www.josieiselin.com

Smell and Taste - www.healthline.com/health/smell
- nihseniorhealth.gov

Guest List

Anthony Caporale Host, Art of the Drink

Bert Hansen Professor, Baruch College

Josie Iselin Author, An Ocean Garden

Dr. Wahida Karmally Nutritionist, Research Scientist, Columbia University Medical Center

Anil Lalwani Otolaryngologist

John LaPolla Bitter & Esters

Hervé Malivert Chef, International Culinary Center

Pamela Wiznitzer Chapter President, US Bartenders Guild

  • November 2017: Climate Change
  • Saturday, October 20 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 21 - 5:30pm
  • Science & The Earth
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 25 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 28 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Profiles
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 1 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 4 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 8 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 5:30pm
  • November 2017: Climate Change
  • Wednesday, October 17 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 18 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Science and Technology
  • Wednesday, October 10 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 11 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 13 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 14 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Genetics
  • Wednesday, October 3 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 4 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 6 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 7 - 5:30pm
  • August 2017
  • Wednesday, September 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, September 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, September 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, September 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science & Animals
  • Thursday, September 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, September 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, September 23 - 5:30pm