CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science and the Brain

Episode Details

Original tape date: January 10, 2015.

First aired: January 27, 2015.

• Dr. Max Gomez maps out the parts of the brain to explain where our functions come from.

• Donna Hanover looks at advancements in research for ALS.

• Andrew Falzon finds an innovative software that may help treat Dementia with more accuracy.

• Mike Gilliam explores the possibility that our brains might be making decisions while we are sleep.

• Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson talks with experts to learn the best ways for children to develop their brains.

For More Information:
Brain Mapping - neurocni.com
ALS - projectals.org
Decisions While You Sleep - columbiasleep.org

Guest List

Eiman Azim, PhD Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes, PhD, MSc Director of Life Sciences Conferences, New York Academy of Sciences

Dr. David J. Chalif Chief Neurovascular Neurosurgery, North Shore LIJ

Valerie Estess Director of Research, Project A.L.S.

Thomas Jessell Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Amy Kuceyeski, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Catherine Monk Associate Professor, Columbia University Medical Center

Ashish Raj, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Andrew Westwood Sleep Expert, NY Prebyterian Columbia University Medical Center

Web Extras

Conferences at the NYAS

New York Academy of Sciences shares the process in which scientific conferences are chosen.

What is the NYAS?

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes gives a brief overview of the New York Academy of Sciences.

What is PREPP?

Dr. Catherine Monk explains one intervention study that may prevent postpartum depression.
  • Science and Alternative Healing
  • Wednesday, May 22 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, May 23 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, May 25 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, May 26 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Brain
  • Wednesday, May 29 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, May 30 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Science & The Arts
  • Wednesday, June 5 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, June 6 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, June 8 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, June 9 - 5:30pm
  • Science & Summer Fun
  • Wednesday, June 12 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, June 13 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, June 15 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, June 16 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Exercise
  • Wednesday, May 15 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, May 16 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, May 18 - 11:30am
  • Science and Infertility
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, May 9 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, May 11 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, May 12 - 5:30pm
  • March 2017
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, May 2 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, May 4 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, May 5 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Water
  • Wednesday, April 24 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, April 25 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, April 27 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, April 28 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Astronomy
  • Saturday, April 20 - 11:30am