CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science and the Brain

Episode Details

Original tape date: January 10, 2015.

First aired: January 27, 2015.

• Dr. Max Gomez maps out the parts of the brain to explain where our functions come from.

• Donna Hanover looks at advancements in research for ALS.

• Andrew Falzon finds an innovative software that may help treat Dementia with more accuracy.

• Mike Gilliam explores the possibility that our brains might be making decisions while we are sleep.

• Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson talks with experts to learn the best ways for children to develop their brains.

For More Information:
Brain Mapping - neurocni.com
ALS - projectals.org
Decisions While You Sleep - columbiasleep.org

Guest List

Eiman Azim, PhD Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes, PhD, MSc Director of Life Sciences Conferences, New York Academy of Sciences

Dr. David J. Chalif Chief Neurovascular Neurosurgery, North Shore LIJ

Valerie Estess Director of Research, Project A.L.S.

Thomas Jessell Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Amy Kuceyeski, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Catherine Monk Associate Professor, Columbia University Medical Center

Ashish Raj, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Andrew Westwood Sleep Expert, NY Prebyterian Columbia University Medical Center

Web Extras

Conferences at the NYAS

New York Academy of Sciences shares the process in which scientific conferences are chosen.

What is the NYAS?

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes gives a brief overview of the New York Academy of Sciences.

What is PREPP?

Dr. Catherine Monk explains one intervention study that may prevent postpartum depression.
  • Science and Sports
  • Wednesday, March 27 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, March 28 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, March 30 - 11:30am
  • February 2017
  • Wednesday, April 3 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, April 4 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, April 6 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, April 7 - 5:30pm
  • March 2017
  • Wednesday, April 10 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, April 11 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, April 13 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, April 14 - 5:30pm
  • April 2017
  • Wednesday, April 17 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, April 18 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, April 20 - 11:30am
  • Science and Pain
  • Wednesday, March 20 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, March 21 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, March 23 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, March 24 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Engineering
  • Wednesday, March 13 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, March 14 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, March 16 - 11:30am
  • Science and Men's Health
  • Wednesday, March 6 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, March 7 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, March 9 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, March 10 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Environment
  • Wednesday, February 27 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, February 28 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, March 2 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, March 3 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Medical Advances
  • Saturday, February 23 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, February 24 - 5:30pm