CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science and the Brain

Episode Details

Original tape date: January 10, 2015.

First aired: January 27, 2015.

• Dr. Max Gomez maps out the parts of the brain to explain where our functions come from.

• Donna Hanover looks at advancements in research for ALS.

• Andrew Falzon finds an innovative software that may help treat Dementia with more accuracy.

• Mike Gilliam explores the possibility that our brains might be making decisions while we are sleep.

• Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson talks with experts to learn the best ways for children to develop their brains.

For More Information:
Brain Mapping - neurocni.com
ALS - projectals.org
Decisions While You Sleep - columbiasleep.org

Guest List

Eiman Azim, PhD Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes, PhD, MSc Director of Life Sciences Conferences, New York Academy of Sciences

Dr. David J. Chalif Chief Neurovascular Neurosurgery, North Shore LIJ

Valerie Estess Director of Research, Project A.L.S.

Thomas Jessell Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Amy Kuceyeski, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Catherine Monk Associate Professor, Columbia University Medical Center

Ashish Raj, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Andrew Westwood Sleep Expert, NY Prebyterian Columbia University Medical Center

Web Extras

Conferences at the NYAS

New York Academy of Sciences shares the process in which scientific conferences are chosen.

What is the NYAS?

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes gives a brief overview of the New York Academy of Sciences.

What is PREPP?

Dr. Catherine Monk explains one intervention study that may prevent postpartum depression.
  • Science and Alternative Healing
  • Wednesday, November 21 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 22 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 24 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 25 - 5:30pm
  • October 2017
  • Wednesday, November 28 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 29 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 1 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 2 - 5:30pm
  • Science & U!: The Best of Spring
  • Wednesday, December 5 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 6 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 8 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 9 - 5:30pm
  • Season 6/Episode 5: May 2017
  • Wednesday, December 12 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 13 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 15 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 16 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Wednesday, December 19 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 20 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • September 2017
  • Wednesday, November 14 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 15 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 17 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 18 - 5:30pm
  • Science and U!: The Best of S&U! 2014
  • Wednesday, November 7 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 8 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 10 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, November 11 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Profiles
  • Wednesday, October 31 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, November 1 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, November 3 - 11:30am
  • Science & The Earth
  • Wednesday, October 24 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, October 25 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, October 27 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, October 28 - 5:30pm