CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Science and the Brain

Episode Details

Original tape date: January 10, 2015.

First aired: January 27, 2015.

• Dr. Max Gomez maps out the parts of the brain to explain where our functions come from.

• Donna Hanover looks at advancements in research for ALS.

• Andrew Falzon finds an innovative software that may help treat Dementia with more accuracy.

• Mike Gilliam explores the possibility that our brains might be making decisions while we are sleep.

• Magalie Laguerre-Wilkinson talks with experts to learn the best ways for children to develop their brains.

For More Information:
Brain Mapping - neurocni.com
ALS - projectals.org
Decisions While You Sleep - columbiasleep.org

Guest List

Eiman Azim, PhD Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes, PhD, MSc Director of Life Sciences Conferences, New York Academy of Sciences

Dr. David J. Chalif Chief Neurovascular Neurosurgery, North Shore LIJ

Valerie Estess Director of Research, Project A.L.S.

Thomas Jessell Neuroscientist, Jessell Lab, Columbia University

Amy Kuceyeski, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Catherine Monk Associate Professor, Columbia University Medical Center

Ashish Raj, PhD Weill-Cornell Medical College

Dr. Andrew Westwood Sleep Expert, NY Prebyterian Columbia University Medical Center

Web Extras

Conferences at the NYAS

New York Academy of Sciences shares the process in which scientific conferences are chosen.

What is the NYAS?

Dr. Melanie Brickman Stynes gives a brief overview of the New York Academy of Sciences.

What is PREPP?

Dr. Catherine Monk explains one intervention study that may prevent postpartum depression.
  • Science and the Environment
  • Wednesday, January 23 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 24 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 26 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 27 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Exercise
  • Wednesday, January 30 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 31 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 2 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, February 3 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Food
  • Wednesday, February 6 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, February 7 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 9 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, February 10 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Brain
  • Wednesday, February 13 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, February 14 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, February 16 - 11:30am
  • Science & The Internet
  • Wednesday, January 16 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 17 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 19 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 20 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Advances in Breast Cancer
  • Wednesday, January 9 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 10 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 12 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 13 - 5:30pm
  • Science and the Arts
  • Wednesday, January 2 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, January 3 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, January 6 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Men's Health
  • Wednesday, December 26 - 9:00pm
  • Thursday, December 27 - 10:30am, 4:30pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 30 - 5:30pm
  • Science and Women
  • Saturday, December 22 - 11:30am
  • Sunday, December 23 - 5:30pm