CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Series Premiere (Season One, #1)



Online media for this episode is not currently available on cuny.tv.

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 1, 2001.

In this edition, the hosts speak to some of the DJ’s and broadcast announcers who work at the different CUNY radio stations. They also speak to a photographer turned professor. Professor David Gillison talks about his career and the fantastic places it’s brought him. Also, this edition mentions the CUNY Honors College. A program that offers outstanding high school seniors an opportunity to bring their skills to CUNY.Finally, this episode offers a little taste of CUNY’s annual Jazz Festival when the hosts interview a professor from CUNY’s City College.

Guest List

Khamarine Bhagroo Honors Scholar, Queens College

Joe Brown General Manager, City College/Harlem Community Radio

Michael Cappello Sports Director, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Prof. Dan Carillo Director, CUNY Jazz Festival

Prof. Ron Carter Distinguished Professor, City College, Music Dept.

David Gillison Professor of Art, Lehman College

Justin Gogel Honors Scholar, Hunter College

Chanc. Matthew Goldstein Chancellor, City University of New York/CUNY

Skeery Jones Producer Z Morning Zoo, WHTZ

Tomiko Karino Host, Study With the Best

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Phd. Roger Persell Director, Hunter College Scholars Program

Tom Quinn Sports Commentator, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Malik Washington Brooklyn College Jazz Band

Prof. Salim Washington Director, Brooklyn College Jazz Band

  • Season 16, Episode 6
  • Sunday, February 26 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 4 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, March 12 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 18 - 3:30pm
  • Stories from the Summer
  • Sunday, March 5 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 11 - 3:30pm
  • Where Are They Now? 
  • Sunday, March 19 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 25 - 3:30pm
  • tba
  • Sunday, March 26 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Archiving at CUNY
  • Sunday, February 19 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 25 - 3:30pm
  • CUNY Journeys - Overseas and Underground
  • Sunday, February 5 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 11 - 3:30pm
  • CUNY and the Environment
  • Sunday, January 29 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 4 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, February 12 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, February 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, February 18 - 3:30pm
  • Music @ CUNY
  • Saturday, January 28 - 3:30pm