CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Series Premiere (Season One, #1)



Online media for this episode is not currently available on cuny.tv.

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 1, 2001.

In this edition, the hosts speak to some of the DJ’s and broadcast announcers who work at the different CUNY radio stations. They also speak to a photographer turned professor. Professor David Gillison talks about his career and the fantastic places it’s brought him. Also, this edition mentions the CUNY Honors College. A program that offers outstanding high school seniors an opportunity to bring their skills to CUNY.Finally, this episode offers a little taste of CUNY’s annual Jazz Festival when the hosts interview a professor from CUNY’s City College.

Guest List

Khamarine Bhagroo Honors Scholar, Queens College

Joe Brown General Manager, City College/Harlem Community Radio

Michael Cappello Sports Director, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Prof. Dan Carillo Director, CUNY Jazz Festival

Prof. Ron Carter Distinguished Professor, City College, Music Dept.

David Gillison Professor of Art, Lehman College

Justin Gogel Honors Scholar, Hunter College

Chanc. Matthew Goldstein Chancellor, City University of New York/CUNY

Skeery Jones Producer Z Morning Zoo, WHTZ

Tomiko Karino Host, Study With the Best

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Phd. Roger Persell Director, Hunter College Scholars Program

Tom Quinn Sports Commentator, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Malik Washington Brooklyn College Jazz Band

Prof. Salim Washington Director, Brooklyn College Jazz Band

  • Archiving at CUNY
  • Saturday, July 2 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, July 10 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 13 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, July 16 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, July 24 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Performers Across CUNY
  • Sunday, July 3 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 6 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, July 9 - 3:30pm
  • Technology
  • Sunday, July 17 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, July 20 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, July 23 - 3:30pm
  • Archiving at CUNY
  • Sunday, June 26 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 29 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Activism
  • Sunday, June 19 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 25 - 3:30pm
  • The Future
  • Sunday, June 5 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 11 - 3:30pm
  • CUNY Journeys - Overseas and Underground
  • Wednesday, June 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 4 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, June 12 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, June 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, June 18 - 3:30pm