CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Series Premiere (Season One, #1)



Online media for this episode is not currently available on cuny.tv.

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 1, 2001.

In this edition, the hosts speak to some of the DJ’s and broadcast announcers who work at the different CUNY radio stations. They also speak to a photographer turned professor. Professor David Gillison talks about his career and the fantastic places it’s brought him. Also, this edition mentions the CUNY Honors College. A program that offers outstanding high school seniors an opportunity to bring their skills to CUNY.Finally, this episode offers a little taste of CUNY’s annual Jazz Festival when the hosts interview a professor from CUNY’s City College.

Guest List

Khamarine Bhagroo Honors Scholar, Queens College

Joe Brown General Manager, City College/Harlem Community Radio

Michael Cappello Sports Director, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Prof. Dan Carillo Director, CUNY Jazz Festival

Prof. Ron Carter Distinguished Professor, City College, Music Dept.

David Gillison Professor of Art, Lehman College

Justin Gogel Honors Scholar, Hunter College

Chanc. Matthew Goldstein Chancellor, City University of New York/CUNY

Skeery Jones Producer Z Morning Zoo, WHTZ

Tomiko Karino Host, Study With the Best

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Phd. Roger Persell Director, Hunter College Scholars Program

Tom Quinn Sports Commentator, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Malik Washington Brooklyn College Jazz Band

Prof. Salim Washington Director, Brooklyn College Jazz Band

  • Cuisine
  • Wednesday, October 22 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 25 - 3:30pm
  • Season 14, #2
  • Sunday, October 26 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 29 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, November 1 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, November 9 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 12 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, November 15 - 3:30pm
  • Changing Communities, Changing the World
  • Sunday, November 2 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, November 8 - 3:30pm
  • Colin Powell and CUNY
  • Sunday, November 16 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, November 19 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Cuisine
  • Sunday, October 19 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • We're With That One Sound: Music and CUNY
  • Sunday, October 5 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 8 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, October 11 - 3:30pm
  • Performers Across CUNY
  • Sunday, September 28 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 1 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, October 4 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, October 12 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, October 15 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 18 - 3:30pm
  • Innovators and Entrepreneurs
  • Sunday, September 21 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 24 - 10:00pm
  • Saturday, September 27 - 3:30pm