CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Series Premiere (Season One, #1)



Online media for this episode is not currently available on cuny.tv.

Episode Details

Original tape date: December 1, 2001.

In this edition, the hosts speak to some of the DJ’s and broadcast announcers who work at the different CUNY radio stations. They also speak to a photographer turned professor. Professor David Gillison talks about his career and the fantastic places it’s brought him. Also, this edition mentions the CUNY Honors College. A program that offers outstanding high school seniors an opportunity to bring their skills to CUNY.Finally, this episode offers a little taste of CUNY’s annual Jazz Festival when the hosts interview a professor from CUNY’s City College.

Guest List

Khamarine Bhagroo Honors Scholar, Queens College

Joe Brown General Manager, City College/Harlem Community Radio

Michael Cappello Sports Director, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Prof. Dan Carillo Director, CUNY Jazz Festival

Prof. Ron Carter Distinguished Professor, City College, Music Dept.

David Gillison Professor of Art, Lehman College

Justin Gogel Honors Scholar, Hunter College

Chanc. Matthew Goldstein Chancellor, City University of New York/CUNY

Skeery Jones Producer Z Morning Zoo, WHTZ

Tomiko Karino Host, Study With the Best

Zyphus Lebrun Host; Producer, Study With the Best; Independent Sources

Phd. Roger Persell Director, Hunter College Scholars Program

Tom Quinn Sports Commentator, College of Staten Island Radio/WSIA

Malik Washington Brooklyn College Jazz Band

Prof. Salim Washington Director, Brooklyn College Jazz Band

  • Geek Subculture Through the CUNY Lens
  • Saturday, April 19 - 3:30pm
  • Season 12, #2
  • Sunday, April 20 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 23 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 26 - 3:30pm
  • tba
  • Sunday, April 27 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 30 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 3 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, May 11 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 14 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 17 - 3:30pm
  • The Visual Arts
  • Sunday, May 4 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 7 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 10 - 3:30pm
  • Innovators and Entrepreneurs
  • Sunday, May 18 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Technology
  • Sunday, April 6 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 9 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 12 - 3:30pm
  • Geek Subculture Through the CUNY Lens
  • Sunday, March 30 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 2 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 5 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, April 13 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 16 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Athletics
  • Sunday, March 23 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, March 26 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, March 29 - 3:30pm
  • Season 12, #7: Transitions
  • Saturday, March 22 - 3:30pm