CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Music: Inside and Outside of CUNY

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 13, 2013.

First aired: February 24, 2013.

This month, the news magazine show about CUNY dives headfirst into music. First, we visit with the freestyle hip-hop outfit the Cyphers, who perform on the Brooklyn College campus and on campus radio. We take a quick look at the CUNY Graduate Center’s Foundation for Iberian Music. Afterwards, we go to a rehearsal with the Brown Rice Family, a freewheeling reggae/soul/hip hop band with five City College graduates. Then, pianist Quynh Nguyen of Hunter College takes us on a journey through the music of Chopin and Ravel. Mark Dolan of John Jay College offers up his very unique – and possibly quite controversial – take on Bruce Springsteen, and we close with Eddie Grupper, a City College graduate who is making his way in the world of engineering and recording music for commercials. Lastly we detour over to York College and look at the campus’ performing arts space.

Guest List

Marc Dolan Author, Associate Professor, English and Film Studies, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Eddie Grupper Alumnus, Composer, Engineer, City College

Roger Hanson Alumnus , Brooklyn College

Melissa Juste Student, Brooklyn College

Yuichi Lida Former Student, Musician, City College, Brown Rice Family

Quynh Nguyen Adjunct Assistant Professor, Pianist , Hunter College

Antoni Piza Director, Graduate Center, Foundation for Iberian Music

Sticky Rice Former Student, Musician, City College, Brown Rice Family

Thomas Zlabinger Music Coordinator, York College

  • Season 17, Episode 10
  • Thursday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 29 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 1 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 8 - 7:00pm
  • The Press Under Duress: CUNY and the News Under Siege
  • Thursday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, July 13 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 15 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 20 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 22 - 7:00pm
  • Music @ CUNY
  • Thursday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 15 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 17 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, June 22 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 24 - 7:00pm
  • Archiving at CUNY
  • Thursday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 1 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 3 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 10:30am
  • Culture and Identity
  • Saturday, May 26 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, May 27 - 7:00pm