CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Music: Inside and Outside of CUNY

Episode Details

Original tape date: February 13, 2013.

First aired: February 24, 2013.

This month, the news magazine show about CUNY dives headfirst into music. First, we visit with the freestyle hip-hop outfit the Cyphers, who perform on the Brooklyn College campus and on campus radio. We take a quick look at the CUNY Graduate Center’s Foundation for Iberian Music. Afterwards, we go to a rehearsal with the Brown Rice Family, a freewheeling reggae/soul/hip hop band with five City College graduates. Then, pianist Quynh Nguyen of Hunter College takes us on a journey through the music of Chopin and Ravel. Mark Dolan of John Jay College offers up his very unique – and possibly quite controversial – take on Bruce Springsteen, and we close with Eddie Grupper, a City College graduate who is making his way in the world of engineering and recording music for commercials. Lastly we detour over to York College and look at the campus’ performing arts space.

Guest List

Marc Dolan Author, Associate Professor, English and Film Studies, John Jay College of Criminal Justice

Eddie Grupper Alumnus, Composer, Engineer, City College

Roger Hanson Alumnus , Brooklyn College

Melissa Juste Student, Brooklyn College

Yuichi Lida Former Student, Musician, City College, Brown Rice Family

Quynh Nguyen Adjunct Assistant Professor, Pianist , Hunter College

Antoni Piza Director, Graduate Center, Foundation for Iberian Music

Sticky Rice Former Student, Musician, City College, Brown Rice Family

Thomas Zlabinger Music Coordinator, York College

  • The Press Under Duress: CUNY and the News Under Siege
  • Wednesday, April 26 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 29 - 3:30pm
  • tba
  • Sunday, April 30 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 3 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 6 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, May 14 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 17 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 20 - 3:30pm
  • Politics Through a CUNY Lens
  • Sunday, May 7 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 10 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, May 13 - 3:30pm
  • The Future
  • Sunday, May 21 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, May 24 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • CUNY and Criminology
  • Sunday, April 16 - 8:00am
  • Wednesday, April 19 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 22 - 3:30pm
  • Legacies
  • Sunday, April 2 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 5 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 8 - 3:30pm
  • The Press Under Duress: CUNY and the News Under Siege
  • Wednesday, March 29 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, April 1 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, April 9 - 8:00am, 8:00pm
  • Wednesday, April 12 - 8:00am, 2:00pm, 10:00pm
  • Saturday, April 15 - 3:30pm
  • Sunday, April 23 - 8:00am, 8:00pm