CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Making Good on Geek: Nerd Culture Through the Lens of CUNY

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2014.

First aired: March 30, 2014.

This month's episode explores the robust subculture of geeks, as seen through a CUNY lens. Robert Geronimo, a Brooklyn College alum, teaches kids how to draw comics on the CSI campus, and is also a comic book author and publisher. Baruch College associate prof David Gruber, also a research associate at the American Museum of Natural History, tells us all about deep sea bioflourescence. We listen in on the Nerd New York podcast that comes out of York College, then City College alumna Pamela Thomas teaches us about the historical import of black animation cels as she discusses Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids, Soul Train, the Jackson Five and her own Museum of Uncut Funk. We also visit with two professors who are using games in the classroom as part of the CUNY Gaming Network at the CUNY Graduate Center.

Guest List

Giovanni Anglin York College

Francesco Crocco BMCC

Trone Dowd York College

Mahmoud Farraj BMCC

Robert Geronimo Brooklyn College/CSI

David Gruber Baruch College

Daniel Lashley-Smith

Kathleen Offenholley BMCC

Melony Pimentel BMCC

Pamela Thomas City College of New York

Elliot Wiseman York College

  • Religion and Spirituality through the CUNY Lens
  • Thursday, July 26 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, July 27 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 28 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 29 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, August 4 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, August 5 - 7:00pm
  • Poetry, a Docent, and Rock n' Roll: Art @ CUNY
  • Thursday, August 9 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, August 10 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, August 11 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, August 12 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, August 17 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, August 18 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, August 19 - 7:00pm
  • The Press Under Duress: CUNY and the News Under Siege
  • Thursday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, July 13 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 15 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 20 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 22 - 7:00pm
  • Season Finale
  • Thursday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 29 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 1 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 8 - 7:00pm
  • Music @ CUNY
  • Saturday, June 23 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 24 - 7:00pm