CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Making Good on Geek: Nerd Culture Through the Lens of CUNY

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 11, 2014.

First aired: March 30, 2014.

This month's episode explores the robust subculture of geeks, as seen through a CUNY lens. Robert Geronimo, a Brooklyn College alum, teaches kids how to draw comics on the CSI campus, and is also a comic book author and publisher. Baruch College associate prof David Gruber, also a research associate at the American Museum of Natural History, tells us all about deep sea bioflourescence. We listen in on the Nerd New York podcast that comes out of York College, then City College alumna Pamela Thomas teaches us about the historical import of black animation cels as she discusses Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids, Soul Train, the Jackson Five and her own Museum of Uncut Funk. We also visit with two professors who are using games in the classroom as part of the CUNY Gaming Network at the CUNY Graduate Center.

Guest List

Giovanni Anglin York College

Francesco Crocco BMCC

Trone Dowd York College

Mahmoud Farraj BMCC

Robert Geronimo Brooklyn College/CSI

David Gruber Baruch College

Daniel Lashley-Smith

Kathleen Offenholley BMCC

Melony Pimentel BMCC

Pamela Thomas City College of New York

Elliot Wiseman York College

  • Politics Through a CUNY Lens
  • Sunday, January 21 - 7:00pm
  • Season 17, Episode #5
  • Thursday, January 25 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, January 26 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, January 28 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, February 2 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, February 4 - 7:00pm
  • CUNY and the Environment
  • Thursday, February 8 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, February 9 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, February 11 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, February 16 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, February 18 - 7:00pm
  • Politics Through a CUNY Lens
  • Thursday, January 11 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, January 12 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, January 13 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, January 14 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, January 19 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, January 20 - 10:30am
  • The Women's Movement Through the CUNY Lens
  • Thursday, December 28 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, December 29 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, December 30 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, December 31 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, January 5 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, January 6 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, January 7 - 7:00pm
  • Farm to App: Study With the Best Season 16, Episode 3
  • Friday, December 22 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, December 23 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, December 24 - 7:00pm