CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: From Solar Power to Biodiesel: CUNY and the Environment

Episode Details

Original tape date: November 6, 2014.

First aired: November 30, 2014.

On the third episode of season 14, we focus on the environment. We’ll have stories focusing on the Bronx River rehabilitation and Professor John Waldman of Queens College, who is helping repopulate fish back into the river. We’ll have a story on the NYC Solar Map, an initiative developed by Sustainable CUNY, and the increasing use of solar power on rooftops. We’ll look at an environmental photo exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History featuring curator and Graduate Center faculty Mark Siddall. A team at City College featuring Professor John Fillos has developed an ingenious way to purify NYC wastewater. And finally, we’ll look at biodiesel and the work also being done at BCC’s Center for Sustainable Energy.

Guest List

Toheeb Ashorobi Bronx Community College/CUNY

Joseph Bush Center for Sustainable Energy

Christopher Camilo Bronx Community College/CUNY

Tria Case University Director of Sustainability, CUNY

Prof. John Fillos Professor, City College of New York/CUNY

Mahsa Mehrdad Ph.D. Student, City College of New York/CUNY

Krystal Patrice Ruiz-Cruz Grid Alternatives

Kate Shackford Executive Director, Grid Alternatives

Mark Siddall The Graduate Center/CUNY

Aaron Socha Center for Sustainable Energy

Dr. John Waldman Professor, Queens College/CUNY

William Welcome

  • Culture and Identity
  • Friday, May 25 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, May 27 - 7:00pm
  • Archiving at CUNY
  • Thursday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 1 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 3 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 10 - 7:00pm
  • Music @ CUNY
  • Thursday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 15 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 17 - 7:00pm
  • Culture and Identity
  • Thursday, May 17 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, May 18 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 19 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, May 20 - 7:00pm
  • CUNY and the Animal Kingdom
  • Thursday, May 3 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, May 4 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 5 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, May 6 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, May 11 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 12 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, May 13 - 7:00pm
  • April 2018
  • Sunday, April 22 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, April 27 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, April 28 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, April 29 - 7:00pm