CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: CUNY Journeys - Overseas and Underground

Episode Details

Original tape date: May 2, 2016.

First aired: May 29, 2016.

This month’s Study With the Best travels to both Cuba and Korea, goes into the subway to hear opera, explores the world of GIFs, and profiles a winner of a MacArthur Genius Grant. Michael Branson Smith of York College has been studying and creating GIFs for quite some time; a profile of Brooklyn College professor Ben Lerner; the CUNY athletic conference sent 16 student-athletes to Cuba on a CUNY Goodwill tour; students head to South Korea as part of the CUNY Study Abroad in South Korea program; and Samantha Echo is an opera singer and songwriter who performs as part of Music Under New York.

Guest List

Michael Branson Smith York College

Nadia Burgess Brooklyn College

Young Cheong Program Director, CUNY Study Abroad in South Korea, Brooklyn College

Diana Cuevas Student-Athlete, York College

Zak Ivkovic Executive Director, CUNY Athletic Conference

Ronald Kuang Brooklyn College

Ben Lerner Author; Professor, Brooklyn College

Frances Louis Brooklyn College

Samantha Marguiles Opera Singer, Music Under New York

Johanna Palma Student-Athlete, Hostos Community College

Justin Starrantino Student-Athlete, Baruch College

  • No upcoming shows on the schedule
  • Season Finale
  • Thursday, September 6 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, September 7 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, September 8 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, September 9 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, September 14 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, September 15 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, September 16 - 7:00pm
  • Best Of Season 2018
  • Thursday, August 23 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, August 24 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, August 25 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, August 26 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, August 31 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, September 1 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, September 2 - 7:00pm