CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Politics Through a CUNY Lens

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 3, 2016.

First aired: October 30, 2016.

On this month’s Study With the Best, we look at politics through a CUNY lens. Visual journalist Natalie Fertig, a graduate of the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, shares her videos and photos from the presidential primaries and campaigns. Distinguished professor Ralph Blumenthal tells the story of the fascinating archives of Luther Gulick, a man who transformed how government operates, whose papers are now housed at Baruch College. The Latino Leadership Institute is teaching young minorities what they need to know to run for office. CUNY’s Center for Urban Research, under the direction of Steven Romalewski, studies data maps and what they can tell us about voting patterns. And up at Queens College, adjunct professor Richard Diaz is using puppets to tell stories and keep students politically engaged.

Guest List

Ralph Blumenthal Distinguished Lecturer, Baruch College/CUNY

Richard Diaz Adjunct Professor, Art Department, Queens College/CUNY

Mr. Jaime Estades, Esq. President, Latino Leadership Institute

Natalie Fertig Visual Journalist, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Cara Hanna Queens College/CUNY

Samelys Lopez Latino Leadership Institute

Steven Romalewski Director, CUNY Mapping Service, Center for Urban Research

  • Religion and Spirituality through the CUNY Lens
  • Thursday, November 16 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, November 17 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, November 18 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, November 19 - 7:00pm
  • Unique Classes at CUNY
  • Thursday, November 2 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, November 3 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, November 4 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, November 5 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, November 10 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, November 11 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, November 12 - 7:00pm
  • Poetry, a Docent, and Rock n' Roll: Art @ CUNY
  • Saturday, October 21 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, October 22 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, October 27 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, October 28 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, October 29 - 7:00pm