CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Politics Through a CUNY Lens

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 3, 2016.

First aired: October 30, 2016.

On this month’s Study With the Best, we look at politics through a CUNY lens. Visual journalist Natalie Fertig, a graduate of the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism, shares her videos and photos from the presidential primaries and campaigns. Distinguished professor Ralph Blumenthal tells the story of the fascinating archives of Luther Gulick, a man who transformed how government operates, whose papers are now housed at Baruch College. The Latino Leadership Institute is teaching young minorities what they need to know to run for office. CUNY’s Center for Urban Research, under the direction of Steven Romalewski, studies data maps and what they can tell us about voting patterns. And up at Queens College, adjunct professor Richard Diaz is using puppets to tell stories and keep students politically engaged.

Guest List

Ralph Blumenthal Distinguished Lecturer, Baruch College/CUNY

Richard Diaz Adjunct Professor, Art Department, Queens College/CUNY

Mr. Jaime Estades, Esq. President, Latino Leadership Institute

Natalie Fertig Visual Journalist, CUNY Graduate School of Journalism

Cara Hanna Queens College/CUNY

Samelys Lopez Latino Leadership Institute

Steven Romalewski Director, CUNY Mapping Service, Center for Urban Research

  • Music @ CUNY
  • Sunday, June 24 - 7:00pm
  • Season 17, Episode 10
  • Thursday, June 28 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 29 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 30 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 1 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 6 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 7 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 8 - 7:00pm
  • The Press Under Duress: CUNY and the News Under Siege
  • Thursday, July 12 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, July 13 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 14 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 15 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, July 20 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, July 21 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, July 22 - 7:00pm
  • Music @ CUNY
  • Thursday, June 14 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 15 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 16 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 17 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, June 22 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 23 - 10:30am
  • Archiving at CUNY
  • Thursday, May 31 - 8:30pm
  • Friday, June 1 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 2 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, June 3 - 7:00pm
  • Friday, June 8 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, June 9 - 10:30am
  • Culture and Identity
  • Friday, May 25 - 8:30am, 3:30pm
  • Saturday, May 26 - 10:30am
  • Sunday, May 27 - 7:00pm