CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: "The Merchant of Venice," with Prof. James Shapiro, plus: "A Tribute to Jill Clayburgh," with excerpts from an interview with the actress in 2005.

Episode Details

Original tape date: October 29, 2010.

First aired: November 27, 2010.

We look at SHYLOCK, with Prof. James Shapiro, author of “Shakespeare and the Jews.” He discusses how this “Merchant of Venice” character has been portrayed over the past four centuries. Also, we pay tribute to the beloved actress Jill Clayburgh.

Guest List

Jill Clayburgh Actress

James S. Shapiro Professor, Columbia University

  • The New Stars of "Hamilton"
  • Monday, January 22 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, January 28 - 7:00am
  • Monday, January 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Elaine Stritch's 88th Birthday Bash
  • Monday, January 29 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 4 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Spring Season Preview
  • Monday, February 5 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 11 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, February 12 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 18 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 19 - 7:30am, 1:30pm