CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Playwright Amy Herzog discusses her new play Belleville. Also, we visit with restaurateur Joe Allen.

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 1, 2013.

First aired: March 23, 2013.

We welcome celebrated young playwright Amy Herzog to discuss her new play, "Belleville." Herzog talks about the lengthy process it took her to create this work, as well as her other recent stage successes, "After the Revolution" and "4000 Miles."

Next we head to Manhattan's Hell's Kitchen to interview the legendary restaurateur Joe Allen. Allen opened his eponymous restaurant, Joe Allen, in 1965 on a drug-infested block of the Theater District and by doing so, helped pioneer the highly-successful Restaurant Row, now one of the principle go-to spots for visitors to Broadway. Allen reflects on how Broadway has changed while he's been on the scene and shares some of the wisdom he has gained after half a century in his business, including his insight about seating, "Those who care don't count, and those who count don't care."

Guest List

Joe Allen Restaurateur

Amy Herzog Playwright

  • The New Stars of "Hamilton"
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, January 28 - 7:00am
  • Monday, January 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Elaine Stritch's 88th Birthday Bash
  • Monday, January 29 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 4 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Spring Season Preview
  • Monday, February 5 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 11 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, February 12 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 18 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 19 - 7:30am, 1:30pm