CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: "Vanya and Sonia" and "FINKS"

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 29, 2013.

First aired: April 27, 2013.

We focus on two of the best new plays this season. First up, we discuss "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike," Christopher Durang's modernization of Chekhov. Actors Kristine Nielsen and David Hyde Pierce tell us about the background of the play, as well as the experiences in their careers that led them to star in it on Broadway. Also on the program we talk about "Finks," Gilford’s powerful look at the shameful Blacklisting era in TV and radio. The play was inspired by the true-life experiences of his parents, Jack and Madeline. Both working actors, they were named as Communists in 1955 by close friends, including the legendary Jerome Robbins, at the House Committee on Un-American Activities hearings. As a result, they were blacklisted; not only were they (and hundreds of others in show business) denied employment for almost a decade, but they were subjected to persecution and fear that effected them for the rest of their lives.(taped 3/29/13 & 4/12/13)

Guest List

William Carden Artistic Director, The Ensemble Studio Theatre

Joe Gilford Playwright, "Finks"

Kristine Nielsen Actor, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"

David Hyde Pierce Actor, "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike"

  • "Harry Clarke"
  • Saturday, December 15 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, December 16 - 7:00am
  • Monday, December 17 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Jeff Daniels in "Blackbird"
  • Monday, December 17 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, December 22 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, December 23 - 7:00am
  • Monday, December 24 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Holiday Critics 2016
  • Monday, December 24 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, December 29 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, December 30 - 7:00am
  • Monday, December 31 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  •  "Indecent" and "Come From Away"
  • Monday, December 31 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, January 5 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, January 6 - 7:00am
  • Monday, January 7 - 7:30am, 1:30pm