CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Ethan Mordden, "On Sondheim"

Episode Details

Original tape date: March 4, 2016.

First aired: April 2, 2016.

Author and theater historian Ethan Mordden discusses his latest book, "On Sondheim: An Opinionated Guide," about the composer/lyricist, who Mordden considers not only the most important artist in the musical theater, but also a creative force on the level of Dante and Goethe. Mordden also explains the influence on Sondheim of Oscar Hammerstein II and how one of that great lyricist/librettist's least successful shows, “Allegro," had profound impact on Sondheim's work. 

Guest List

Jesse Green Guest Co-Host; Theatre Critic, New York Magazine

Ethan Mordden Author, “On Sondheim: An Opinionated Guide”

  • The New Stars of "Hamilton"
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, January 28 - 7:00am
  • Monday, January 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Elaine Stritch's 88th Birthday Bash
  • Monday, January 29 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 4 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Spring Season Preview
  • Monday, February 5 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 11 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, February 12 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 17 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 18 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 19 - 7:30am, 1:30pm