CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Talk to Remember (Best of 2015-2016 Season)

Episode Details

First aired: August 27, 2016.

Theater Talk presents “Talk to Remember,” highlights of our viewers’ favorite interviews of the season, including "The Color Purple” actresses Danielle Brooks, Jennifer Hudson & Cynthia Erivo with their director John Doyle, comparing diversity on Broadway to that in Hollywood; actor Jeff Daniels of the drama “Blackbird,” admonishing actors who miss performances; drama critics Ben Brantley, Peter Marks and Elisabeth Vincentelli discussing the significance of Belgian director Ivo van Hove’s revivals of Arthur Miller's “The Crucible” & “A View from the Bridge;” van Hove himself sharing strategies for reimagining these classics;  and last, actor George Takei remembering his childhood experiences during WWII in an internment camp for Japanese-Americans, which inspired the musical “Allegiance.”

Guest List

Ben Brantley Theater Critic, The New York Times

Danielle Brooks Actor, “The Color Purple”

Jeff Daniels Actor; Founder, The Purple Rose Theatre Company

John Doyle Director

Cynthia Erivo “The Color Purple”

Jennifer Hudson “The Color Purple”

Peter Marks Theater Critic, The Washington Post

George Takei Actor

Ivo van Hove Director

Elisabeth Vincentelli Theatre Critic, New York Post

  • David Ives, playwright, "The Liar"
  • Saturday, January 20 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, January 21 - 7:00am
  • Monday, January 22 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • The New Stars of "Hamilton"
  • Monday, January 22 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, January 27 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, January 28 - 7:00am
  • Monday, January 29 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • Elaine Stritch's 88th Birthday Bash
  • Monday, January 29 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 3 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 4 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 5 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, February 5 - 8:00pm
  • Saturday, February 10 - 8:30pm
  • Sunday, February 11 - 7:00am
  • Monday, February 12 - 7:30am, 1:30pm
  • tba
  • Monday, February 12 - 8:00pm