CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: The Epic of Gilgamesh





Online media for this show is not available on our website.

Episode Details

The first known human story is the story of Gilgamesh, king of Uruk. Images of real artifacts from ancient Iraq mix with beautiful illustrations, dance, and costume to tell his story of astounding adventures and the most intimate experiences. Featured speakers include Assyriologist Ben Foster of Yale University, comic book illustrator Jim Starlin, and poet and playwright Yusef Komunyakaa.

Guest List

Ben Foster Assyriologist

Yusef Komunyakaa Poet/Playwright

Jim Starlin Comic Book Illustrator

  • Things Fall Apart
  • Wednesday, August 15 - 12:00pm
  • Candide
  • Wednesday, August 8 - 12:00pm, 9:30pm
  • Friday, August 10 - 10:30am
  • Saturday, August 11 - 10:00am
  • Popol Vuh
  • Wednesday, August 1 - 12:00pm
  • Friday, August 3 - 10:30am
  • Saturday, August 4 - 10:00am
  • Journey to the West
  • Wednesday, July 25 - 12:00pm, 9:30pm
  • Friday, July 27 - 10:30am
  • Saturday, July 28 - 10:00am
  • The Tale of Genji
  • Wednesday, July 18 - 12:00pm, 9:30pm
  • Friday, July 20 - 10:30am
  • Saturday, July 21 - 10:00am