CUNY TV logo

 

This edition: Laura J. Snyder: Author, "Eye of the Beholder"

Episode Details

Original tape date: April 20, 2015.

First aired: May 4, 2015.

Johannes Vermeer and Antoni Van Leeuwenhoek both used optical devices as an artist and as a natural philosopher - the camera obscura and the microscope - exemplifying the confluence of science and art. Laura Snyder, author of "Eye of the Beholder" brings the reader to 17th century Delft, and the artist's and scientist's fascination with what is right in front of their eyes.

Guest List

Laura J. Snyder Author, "Eye of the Beholder: Johannes Vermeer, Antoni Van Leeuwenhoek, and the Reinvention of Seeing"

  • Brittani Sensabaugh
  • Saturday, November 18 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, November 19 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 20 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 25 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, November 27 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Laura Shapiro, Author, What She Ate: Six Remarkable Women & The Food That Tells Their Stories.
  • Monday, November 27 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 29 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, December 2 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, December 3 - 9:30am
  • Monday, December 4 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, December 9 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, December 11 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • tba
  • Monday, December 11 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, December 13 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, December 16 - 8:00pm
  • Brittani Sensabaugh
  • Monday, November 13 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 15 - 11:30pm
  • Rachel Swaby
  • Monday, October 30 - 8:30pm
  • Wednesday, November 1 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, November 4 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, November 5 - 9:30am
  • Monday, November 6 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, November 11 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, November 13 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Monique Martin
  • Wednesday, October 18 - 11:30pm
  • Saturday, October 21 - 8:00pm
  • Sunday, October 22 - 9:30am
  • Monday, October 23 - 8:00am, 2:00pm
  • Saturday, October 28 - 8:00pm
  • Monday, October 30 - 8:00am, 2:00pm